ASSAM LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY

(BUDGET SESSION) BULLETIN PART- I (Vol. 1) BRIEF RECORD OF PROCEEDINGS MONDAY, THE 17th February, 2025

12.00 P.M.

The Budget Session of the Assembly commenced at 12.00 noon after the Hon'ble Governor was received and escorted to the BTC Legislative Assembly Chamber. In a departure from the past, the first day sitting was held at the BTC Legislative Assembly Chamber in Kokrajhar.

National Anthem was played.

12.01 P.M.

Governor's Address:

Hon'ble Speaker requested His Excellency, the Governor of Assam to address the House as required under Article 176 (1) of the Constitution of India and accordingly, the Hon'ble Governor addressed the members of the Assam Legislative Assembly.

After the address by Hon'ble Governor, National Anthem was played.

The House stood Adjourned at 12.28 p.m. for one and half hour.

2.05 P.M.

ANNOUNCEMENT FROM THE CHAIR

After the House was resumed at 2.05 p.m., the Speaker made an announcement under Rule 2 (n) of Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in Assam Legislative Assembly and directed that the "Precincts of the House" for today would include the chamber, lobbies, galleries of Bodoland Territorial Council Legislative Assembly as well as the whole building till the conclusion of today's sitting.

OBITUARY REFERENCES

The Speaker made references to the passing away of the following:-

1. Dr. Monmohan Singh: - Eminent Economist & Former Prime

Minister of India.

2. Bolobhadra Tamuli - Former Deputy Speaker of ALA.

3. Derhagra Mushary - Former Member of ALA.
4. Mustafa Shahidul Islam - Former Member of ALA.
5. Mosir Uddin Sheikh - Former Member of ALA.

6. Ratan Naval Tata - Eminent Industrialist & Assam Baibhav Awardee.

7. Satyalata Gogoi - Veteran Freedom Fighter.8. Khagendra Nath Talukdar - Veteran Freedom Fighter.

9. Ajit Kumar Dey - Deputy Chairman, Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council.

10.Bisa Lad Nong Singphou - Singphou King

11. Nishinath Changkakoti - Retired Director General of Police, Assam & Eminent Writer

12. Surya Das - Artist and Social Worker

13.Dr. Buddha Prasad Chetia - Renowned Mathematician

14.Dr. Gokuleswar Goswami - Geo Scientist.

15. Dr. Gaurangadhar Baruah - Renowned Scientist16. Tarun Chandra Baruah - Renowned Tea Scientist

17. Mihirkanti Choudhury - Eminent Scientist & Former Vice Chancellor of Tezpur University

18.Dr. Anil Goswami - Former Principal of Cotton College.

19. Samarendra Narayan Dev- Eminent Film Director & Producer

20. Mira Thakur - Eminent poet & Critic

21.Kulada Kumar Bhattacharya - Famous Actor & Director

22. Surajit Govinda Barua - Director of The Assam Tribune news paper.

23.Gyanada Kakati - Eminent Film actress.24.Manik Bora - Renowned Music Director

25. Satish Chandra Choudhury - Eminent Litterateur and Social Worker

26. Paran Barbaruah - Industrialist & Film maker

27. Sashi Phukan - Eminent Litterateur

28.Upendra Nath Sharma - Renowned Literary Critic
 29.Ashok Kumar Goswami - Orientalist & Sanskrit Scholar
 30.Tilak Chandra Sashtri - Educationist & Sanskrit Scholar

31.Bina Bhagawati - Eminent Singer

Once the Hon'ble Speaker completed the list of personalities included in the Obituary reference, the Hon'ble Leader of the Opposition requested to include the names of Apurba Lata Baruah, mother of Hon'ble Member Bhaskar Baruah who died yesterday and Nitinranjan Paul, a victim of recent Maha Kumbh Mela Stampede. Hon'ble Member Shri Akhil Gogoi also requested inclusion of the name of Rajib Sadiya, a singer of repute, who died recently. Agreeing to it, the Hon'ble Speaker stated that these will form a part of record

2.16 P.M.

References from the Chair

Hon'ble Speaker made references regarding:-

- 1. Declaration of 'CLASSICAL LANGUAGE' status to the Assamese Language by the Government of India.
- 2. Padma Bhushan Award:

Noted Classical dancer: Nrityacharya Jatin Goswami

- 3. Padmashree Award:
 - (i) Practitioner of Dimasa Folk Culture: Shri Joynacharan Bathari
 - (ii) Educationist & researcher of Bodo Folk literature: Shri Anil Kumar Boro
 - (iii) Veteran Litterateur of Assamese and Nepali Language: Smti Gita Upadhyaya
 - (iv) Practitioner of Sattriya Culture & preserver of mask making art : Shri Rebakanta Mahanta.
- 4. Sahitya Akademi Award:
 - (i) Eminent Poet: Shri Sameer Tanti
 - (ii) Prominent Author: Shri Aron Rajak
 - (iii) Renowned Author: Dr. Dipak Kumar Sarma.

2.24 P.M.

Laying of Inquiry Commission Reports

Dr. Himanta Biswa Sarma (Hon'ble Chief Minister, Assam) laid the two reports of the One-Man Inquiry Commission headed by Justice (Retd.) Shri B.K. Sharma of Gauhati High Court on the allegations and malpractices in the conduct of Combined Competitive Examination CCE-2013 (Vol.-I) and Combined Competitive Examination CCE-2014 (Vol.-I).

<u>2.25 P.M.</u>

ANNOUNCEMENT OF THE BAC REPORT

Hon'ble Speaker announced the Report of the Business Advisory Committee, Assam Legislative Assembly settling the Business for the Budget Session,2025 of the Assembly.

2.28 P.M.

PRESENTATION OF SUPPLEMENTARY DEMANDS FOR GRANTS

Smti. Ajanta Neog (Minister, Finance etc.) presented the Supplementary Demands for Grants and Supplementary Appropriations for the year 2024-25

2.29 P.M.

DISCUSSION UNDER SPEAKER'S INITIATIVES

Hon'ble Member Shri Lawrence Islary initiated the discussion on the topic "Socio – Economic and All Round Development of Sixth Schedule Areas of Assam."

The following Hon'ble Members participated in the Discussion:-

- 1. Shri Darsing Ronghang, BJP
- 2. Smti Nandita Gorlosa, Minister
- 3. Shri Bhubon Pegu, BJP
- 4. Smti Ajanta Neog, Minister
- 5. Md. Aminul Islam, AIUDF
- 6. Shri Durga Das Boro, BPF
- 7. Shri Mrinal Saikia, BJP
- 8. Shri Biswajit Phukan, BJP
- 9. Shri Debabrata Saikia, INC
- 10.Shri Bidya Sing Engleng, BJP
- 11.Smti. Suman Haripriya, BJP
- 12.Shri Jiron Basumatary, UPPL
- 13.Shri Ramendra Narayan Kalita, AGP
- 14.Shri Rama Kanta Dewri, BJP
- 15. Shri Rabiram Narzary, BPF
- 16.Shri Aminul Islam (Sr.) AIUDF
- 17. Shri Manoranjan Talukdar, CPI (M)
- 18. Shri Akhil Gogoi, Independent

Hon'ble Chief Minister Dr. Himanta Biswa Sarma replied to the discussion.

6.18 P.M.

MOTIONS OF THANKS ON THE GOVERNOR'S ADDRESS

Hon'ble Member Shri Rupak Sarmah moved the Motion of Thanks on the Governor's Address and the Hon'ble Member Shri Terash Gowalla seconded the Motion.

6.21 P.M.

Hon'ble Speaker expressed his gratitude to the Chief Executive Member of BTC, Shri Promod Boro, Speaker of the BTC Assembly, Shri Katiram Boro, Deputy Speaker of BTC Assembly and all Executive Members and members of the Council. Hon'ble Speaker also expressed his gratitude to the Hon'ble Chief Minister of Assam, Council of Ministers, the Leader of the Opposition and all the Members of Assam Legislative Assembly for their support and cooperation in commencing the Sitting smoothly. Hon'ble Speaker also extended his sincere thanks to the Principal Secretary of BTC administration, District Commissioner, Superintendent of Police Kokrajhar Officers and staff more specially the Secretary and officers of the BTC Legislative Assembly for making the sitting a successful one.

<u>6.25 P.M.</u>

House adjourned to meet again at Assembly Chamber, Dispur at 9.30 A.M. on Wednesday, the 19th February, 2025.

Dispur

The 17th February, 2025

Sd/-Dulal Pegu

Secretary, Assam Legislative Assembly

Memo No. LALNG/BL/01/2024/2501 Dated Dispur the, 17th February, 2025. **Copy forwarded to:-**

- 1. All Members of the Assam Legislative Assembly
- 2. All Departments of Assam Secretariat (both Civil & P.W.D.)

Chief Reporter-Cum- Editor of Debates & Ex-Officio Joint Secretary Assam Legislative Assembly